top of page
Search

Show Your Work

I'm curled up on love seat (my unofficial writing spot) on another rainy Sunday afternoon in New Providence. Week 4 of my #chicagomarathon training plan is complete and I despite experiencing some aches, it was a pretty good week of training with some personal bests in my speed intervals.


After much research, I decided to take that leap of faith and enroll for my Marathon Running Coach Certification. If you have ever seen the way I research before I sign up for a marathon (it's the law school in me), then you will know that deciding on a certification program was no small task. I spent much of the week pondering what took me so long to decide on this. It is undeniable that I love Run Naturally and have a passion for and connection with working with my group.


The onslaught of Covid-19 has sparked fears and uncertainty about the future in all of us. Even though I have been fortunate to maintain my salary by working from home, I know that there are persons I have had the opportunity to work with who have not been able to say the same. I mulled over whether now was the right time to make a financial investment into my personal development. I spoke with friends and colleagues about it. Some suggested now was the perfect time as I am earning my salary. Others suggested to wait and observe what other moves my employer might make.


Truthfully, one of the more startling components of making this decision was the lie that I found I was constantly feeding myself - that I actually didn't need the certification. I told myself that I have been managing the group fine without one. After I signed up this wave of excitement mixed with nervousness washed over me. I realized that making the shift to completing my certification made what I am doing now "real". It's another step in transitioning my own perception of Run Naturally - from a side hustle to a business. It's opening the door to an international client base; an avenue to solidify moves in the best interest of my family.


Back in school, when you had a math assignment, your teacher would say "show your work". I remember when I was studying for my Master's degree in Law, I relied heavily on 2 Timothy 2:15 "Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth." Both statements remind me that my running experience alone is not enough to get to the next level. I need to be ready and equipped to help other runners responsibly lay the foundation for their own running experiences.


Inspiring the runner is just the start. Coaching the runner is the process.


It's time to show my work.





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reset.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page