top of page
Search

Reset.

This is such an appropriate title and topic for this week's blog post. It has been an exhausting week for many. Much of the world has been following the eventual outcome of the US elections. We have been caught up in the business of working and homeschooling and everything in between. I am sitting in my living room in west New Providence where the weather has been dismal all weekend.


Earlier in the week, I made the decision to use this weekend as an opportunity to reset. Reset my diet by consuming only fruits and vegetables for the next three days. Beyond putting my diet in reset mode, it was time to mentally and spiritually reset. I set this weekend aside to read more. Pray more. Catch up on my podcasts. More positivity and affirmations. Less negativity and pulling down. More rest and quiet time. From a diet perspective, placing the body in reset by consuming fruits, vegetables and water for a duration yields benefits from weight management to boosting the immune system to healthier skin. As runners, we always strive to have our bodies maintained at the highest level possible.


But let us talk about the mental and spiritual reset. A common saying in the running community is that the body follows the mind. Often times the difference between completing a run goal and not starting is in mindset. During the course of a training run or a race, once you have told yourself that you cannot do it, then you will not finish. For these reasons, it is critical not only as runners but as human beings, to reset. We need the opportunity to unplug from the rest of the world and recharge within ourselves. We need that time to immerse ourselves in the activities that we enjoy without worry or guilt about taking time away from the people who need us. I recently came across a list I made two years ago buried in between the pages of one of my books that outlined all of the things that I had committed to do for my own happiness and well being. Guess what? I was able to cross off all but one item on that list. And the one I haven't been able to cross off - watch out 2021!


The final day of my reset is tomorrow - and trust me, I feel like I'll be flying on my recovery run in the morning. But being in reset is about more than being a better runner or having an awesome run. It is about being a better, refreshed and well-rounded person. It is about letting go of the weight and baggage that we tend to take on during the week, month and the better part of our lives - little by little.


Trust me - every beautiful physical manifestation experienced are manifestations of renewing our minds. Take time to reset.


Don't forget to follow us on social media!

Facebook > Run Naturally

Instagram > run_naturally

Twitter > @runnaturally242





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page