top of page
Search

Who Runs The World? The Female Presence in Running.

It is good to be back. Not on the road because #runningneverstops but it is good to be back in person with my running group. Between the Covid-19 restrictions and our own self imposed hiatus after Bahamas Half, there is a renewed sense of energy for me to return to work with my group on our face-to-face platform.


My run group's return is so timely. One of the things that I consider when I lay across my bed at night with all of the plans and goals that I have for #RunNaturally is how the group is entirely female. This certainly was not by design as we have had male members in the group a few months ago. However, when I look at the models of consistency in my business as I approach the one year mark as an entrepreneur, those faces are female.


Yesterday's eight mile long run group session started off like any other Saturday morning run. As we settled in and cruised along the Cable Beach strip and alongside the beaches of West Bay Street, our conversations opened up about how we view ourselves as mothers, the relationships we have with our colleagues, the connections we have with each other as a run group. I will probably be the first to admit that as a coach, I am not too crazy of heavy conversations during our runs because I want the group to maintain run focus. But yesterday's run was beautiful and effortless. And two of the group members clocked some of their best paces of the season.


I thought to myself "we should have runs like this more often." This run was the perfect foundation to underscore the fact that the energy and consistency brought to our runs every week is more than just #TheRunNaturallyStandard. It has become the standard for running, period. A 2019 report on the State of Running written by RunRepeat.com along with the IAAF revealed that 50.24 percent of runners worldwide are female. That number increases to 60% for participation in 5K distance racing. Female participation in the full marathon distance has jumped from 20% in 1986 to 50% in 2018 according to dailymail.co.uk


Our presence as runners in our communities and at the start lines continue to be stronger and more prominent. We continue to be stronger and more prominent. I know that I am one of many women whose mornings start at 4:15 am because a start line awaits me at 5:30 am. I get my son prepared for school. I get prepared for work. My evenings consist of dinners and homework assignments. And without hesitation, I prepare to do it all again the next day.

It is done with the grace and ease of that eight mile run yesterday.


It was not enough to just think about it. I had to write about it.

_______________________________________________________________________

Top 100 Running Blog on Feedspot https://blog.feedspot.com/running-blogs/

Follow Run Naturally: Facebook: Run Naturally

Instagram: run_naturally

Twitter: @runnaturally242




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reset.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page