top of page
Search

Finish Strong. Always.

Hello November! I always say new month = new mindset.


We are down to the final two months of 2020. With everything that has happened this year, I believe that the general consensus is that we will not be sorry to see 2020 depart from us. This year was to be the year of big dreams and bigger goals. For me, this was set to be a milestone year in celebrating the milestone age of forty. This was the year for Chicago Marathon and baby steps towards developing and growing my run group.


For road racing here in the Bahamas, November brings hopeful excitement. It is the advent of virtual half marathon running and training for new goals. This month will undoubtedly be the last month of road racing here for the remainder of the year. As a runner, I am excited. I am excited to return to the road to complete the event that started off my career in long distance running - Bahamas Roadmasters Half Marathon.


As I settle into the busyness and routine of half marathon training, I want to take a moment to challenge my fellow runners to reflect on your year in running.


What has this year been like for you in terms of run training and road races in this Covid-19 environment?

Did you set goals and expectations for yourself?

Did you crush those goals and exceed those expectations?

How have you maintained your fitness level?

What running goals are you looking to set for 2021?

How do you plan to finish out this year?


Take some time to write down your responses to these questions. You may be amazed at how far you have come and how much further you wish to go. Right now, I will focus on the final question - my plans for finishing our this year. This month will be the first half marathon race that I have trained for in two years. It is crazy to think that the last two years, my focus has been exclusively on full marathon training. The half marathon distances that I have covered during that stretch have all come as training miles. So I want to share the fact that I am actually excited to see where I am at in terms of a half marathon race. I am excited that I get to share this experience with my group who will be tackling this distance for the first time.


Make a plan to finish the year excited about running. Feel the buzz of attempting to do something new. Be determined that no matter how this year turned out, you will close it stronger, faster and better than you were when it started.


2020 is leaving us.

Finish Strong. Always.

_________________________________________________________________________

Follow Run Naturally on Social Media:

Facebook: Run Naturally

Instagram: run_naturally

Twitter: @runnaturally242




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reset.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page