top of page
Search

Small Beginnings

"Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin.." Zecharaiah 4:10


Week 6 of my #ChicagoMarathon training plan wrapped up this morning with me running a personal best one mile sprint at a 6'35" pace. It was a week of little rest and recovery as I resumed group run training with Run Naturally, along with a virtual 5K at a 9'07" pace on the Labor Day holiday. As I see fellow marathoners from around the world commence their training cycles, I begin to feel hopeful again that I will tow the line at Grant Park this October.


With the Bahamas progressing to Phase 4 of the national reopening plan, we are able to enjoy even more relaxed restrictions on exercise. The enhanced freedom of movement along with the desire to reverse some of the sedentary habits brought on my the national lockdown unleashed new persons joining our run group. As I shadowed the newest member of #RunNaturally, the question was posed: "What made you decide to start a run group?"


I smile now as I consider the question. It brings me to a time, not long ago, when Run Naturally was a group of one. My lone, dedicated client who was determined to compete in her first race ever - RBC Race for the Kids 5K. I remember the early mornings of muscle cramps and having my son up with me at the crack of dawn. Those cold mornings in December running alongside the ocean on Western Esplanade. I remember that excited voice note I received after the race, the pride she felt at that accomplishment. And I was there in the finish chute to see the finish. I think of today - how Run Naturally has blossomed into a bona fide run family.


Do not despise your small beginnings.


Do not despise that first time you laced up and you had to walk because your endurance was not there yet.

Do not despise the moment when the most ground you could cover was one mile.

Do not despise the first time a long run route was delivered and you could not cover the entire distance.

Do not despise the moment when you attempted your first tempo or speed run and you felt like your heart was coming out of your chest. (Or vomited like I did!)

Do not despise the moment when the time you clocked in a race was not the time that you hoped for.

Do not despise the moment during a training run where you pulled a muscle or reaggravated a prior injury.

Do not despise the moment when you needed to take a break from running.

Do not despise the moment in a race where you just could not finish.


Your fastest mile is coming.

Your improved endurance is coming.

Your finishers medals are coming.

Your personal best is coming.


When you get the urge to be hard on yourself for where you are now in your run journey, remember where you were six months ago. Remember your baby steps.


Do not despise them. Embrace them.







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reset.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page