top of page
Search

Motivation

Week 11 of my #ChicagoMarathon training has come to an end and it has been a week filled with absolutely solid runs. Faster long run paces, stronger hills repeats and just that feeling of being a stronger runner now than I have been in the past. While the uncertainty of whether the marathon will actually place this October still looms over us like the clouds outside New Providence, my resolve to hit the pavement at every opportunity remains unwavered.


During my group and personal run training sessions this week, I had the opportunity, and really the joy of watching my team bask in the glow of their own personal successes on the road. My heart literally becomes full as I engage in the excited chatter that comes from running farther and faster than ever. To observe the pride that comes from holding a consistent run pace without feeling fatigued or the need to take walk breaks. Those are the constant reminders of why I love to coach.


This week I began to think about the concept of motivation. What is it that drives us to lace up every other day (or more frequently) and run? What do we do when that motivation is lost somehow? I remember reading a quote from Coach Bennett: "For motivation to be successful, the athlete must be motivated."


I must admit that when I sit and meditate on that statement, I become wistful. It reminds me of my own limitations as a run coach. I become aware that no matter how many motivational quotes, running articles, catch phrases and Facebook live videos I upload, true drive and motivation rest with the individual. I also acknowledge that motivation is easier to find when you experience success and progress in your run training.


So what do you do when you have lost your motivation to run? I'm going to break it down into three statements:


  1. As in life, there are seasons in running. Running is hard and with that there are times that you run when it's hard and there are times when you just don't. There are times when life's circumstances trump running. It's okay to step away from the sport and return. These streets will be here.

  2. Sometimes you gotta give yourself some grace and step away and sometimes you gotta lace up and go anyway. Sometimes you gotta show yourself some tough love and run yourself up out of a funk. This requires being able to distinguish being in a temporary funk from life shifting.

  3. Remember. Close your eyes and remember why you fell in love with running. Those moments when all that matters is your turnover, that sound of your shoes hitting the pavement, your breathing, your heart racing. Remember.

Running reminds me every day of how strong my mind is. You read that right. The body follows the mind and so every success I have enjoyed in running stems from mental fortitude. Running is my energy and my calm in equal measure. It keeps me disciplined and focused. I cannot imagine a world without it.


What's your motivation?





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reset.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page