top of page
Search

I have changed my mind.

Week 3 of my #chicagomarathon training is in the books. Writing this, I actually expected to hear that the marathon has been cancelled. I am thankful it has not been and hopeful in my ability to continue training. The week here was filled with inclement weather and I decided to shake things up by completing my long run on Wednesday night before our 9 p.m. curfew #lockdownlife and some rainy weather speed runs. It was a week where I paid closer attention to the content uploaded on my run group's page and where I focused on engaging with my run group members on my social networking platforms.


I began to think about growth and change. There are moments that I marvel at the reality of leading my own run group. I would say that last year this same time, my opinions about running with a group were absolutely negative. Groups hold you back. Groups slow you down. Groups will never match your level of personal commitment. Groups will not meet you at 4 a.m. for a twenty mile training run in the thick of your marathon training plan. These were the narratives I held about running in groups since the time I began training for my first half marathon three and a half years ago. Everything I ever learned about training for log distanced races, I learned alone. I made rookie mistakes which, who knows....I may not have made if I was under the guidance of a more experienced runner. It has not always been easy. The experiences have always been amazing.


I observed running groups here in New Providence and I always knew the which actions and behaviors I didn't want to associate with, but I never considered which experiences I wanted if I ever joined a group. I certainly never considered the possibility of creating those experiences with other runners.



I sit here in my living room now and I reflect on how far Run Naturally as come in the past six months. In my quiet moments, I read the how the members of my group articulate with such pride how they ran the most miles ever at one time, how they have improved their pace, how they have improved their breathing and endurance. Most importantly, I read how they express the growing love that they have for the sport that I love above all others. (Yes, even more than the #NFL #GoPackGo)


I watch them run in the rain.

I watch them run in the heat of the afternoon.

I watch them run with jogging strollers.

I watch them run the deserted streets of their neighborhoods with their spouses trailing them in the car for safety.

I watch them run when they do not feel like running.

I watch them run in the midst of grief.

I watch them run even when it is hard.

I watch them all.

I run every mile with them.


I wonder why it took almost year to recognize this purpose and calling I have to inspire the next group of runners and to act accordingly. I wonder how I managed to miss the beauty and the magic that emerges when people push past their comfort zones. I wonder where would I be if I missed out on the camaraderie that emanates from this group.


Today I am thankful.

Six months ago I changed my mind.





50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reset.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page