top of page
Search

FALLing In Love With Running.

Just like that.


August is down to its final day and September is about to make its entrance. I close my eyes and instantly, everything that I love about running and racing during this time flood my memory. It is actually comical because being born and raised in the Bahamas, the season of fall is virtually non-existent. Yet somehow, I have developed a love for training and racing during this season.


September training is hard training. You are down to the last four to five weeks in your training plan where the mileage increases. The intensity increases. Your mornings start earlier and earlier. You crave those rest days and those recovery workouts. You become more anxious as race day approaches.


The casual observer may think "What's so wonderful about that?" I stated on my #FacebookLive yesterday after my long run that September miles lead to October start lines. October start lines are absolutely beautiful. They are energetic and exciting. They are memorable and motivational. As a runner, it is the most wonderful time of the year. I have had the opportunity to race in Minnesota and Michigan in October. The beauty of the colorful leaves falling, that crisp cold air leading up to the race, the crowds and the frenzy - it is everything you have trained for.


Before I sat down to pen this blog post, my mind went to the movie #BrownSugar and the lead off question for all of Sidney's interviews: "When did you fall in love with hip-hop?" I began to think of whether I can pinpoint that exact time or moment that I fell in love with running. Honestly, I cannot put my finger on the exact time. Running for me is like a long time friendship that has developed from casual and curious to committed and complex. I remember those first months of running where it was just an activity to supplement my primary workout routine. Today it is passion. It is consistency. It is inspiration. That passion is fueled and renewed every race reason. Every fall I fall in love with running again.


When did you fall in love with running?

Do you have a favorite season for running?


Hold that feeling. Renew that feeling at every opportunity.







13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reset.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page