top of page
Search

Virtually Undeniable.

Somehow, I managed to take an unexpected hiatus from blog writing. One of the things you realize and accept as a women who wears many hats is that there are certain things that you have to set aside, if only for a moment.


It has been a month since my last blog post. I realize that September came with competing priorities like combining the adjustment of a new work schedule with rolling out some homeschooling for my son one month before the start of the academic year in an effort to get him into a home-based learning routine. I'm holding firm, diligently running my business and gearing up for the busy upcoming race season, while approaching the taper point of my own marathon training. Add to that one of my favorite September hobbies in the form of start of the NFL season and you can understand how easily blogging was placed on pause.


One activity that has not been placed on pause is the emergence of virtual road racing here in the Bahamas. I remember months ago, sitting at my laptop, decidedly adamant that signing up for a virtual road race was something that was not for me. And while I hold fast to the opinion that there is truly no substitute for the excitement that comes along with a live, in-person race course, I can certainly understand the appeal behind not waiting until next year to accomplish that long desired race distance or personal best. In the midst of my own dissent, I managed to maintain my marathon training plan and I am set to lace up for my fourth full marathon (and first virtual) next Saturday morning.


I consider myself to be a fairly experienced runner. I have had the privilege of competing in both local and international races from 5K to 42.2K. Somehow, this morning on my training run I felt nervousness run through my body. That is not unusual. I am nervous before every race. But this was different. As much experience I have gained as a runner, I have never tackled running 26.2 miles on my own and in my own hometown (crazy, right?). This was unchartered waters. I look around on Saturday mornings and see so many of my fellow runners training to test those same unchartered waters.


With that being said, I believe that now is the perfect to share some tips on how to be prepared for your first virtual race.


Here we go.......


#1 - Plan your route in advance. It's one thing to feel the familiarity of running at home but it's another to have a route planned only to realize that you may be several meters (or miles!) short of your race distance.


#2 - Have a hydration and nutrition strategy. In person races have truly pampered us. We train and endure some grueling miles in pursuit of our race dreams while total strangers give up their months and weekends to hand us cups of Gatorade and water and packets energy gels at every mile marker. They are the real MVPs. In the reality that is virtual racing, they are non-existent. So make sure have a solid plan. That may include having a family member or friend offer assistance during your run. Or having your water bottles stashed in the bushes. Or running with belt that will hold the fuel you require to get you from start to finish. Whatever method you decide on, do not wait until the last minute.


#3 - If you are overcome by nerves, just look at your race as just another training run. No pressure. No timing chip in your bib. It is just you and the road like any other Saturday or Sunday. The same scenes and streets (and ocean views if you are lucky) that you have spent months training on. Which leads me to point #4.......


#4 - Trust your training - This advice is universal - virtual and in-person. Know that there is nothing more you can do within the final 14 days of your training cycle that will magically produce otherworldly results. The taper time in your training cycle is just to focus on the little things and maintaining the confidence that your months of training will bear fruit.


#5 - Know who you are as a runner - Running alone is not for everyone. There are many of us that thrive on that excitement in the air that lingers during race morning. There are many of us that are perfectly fine with the concept of a 26.2 mile run in the solitude of the morning. Personally, I like to reach for music over the final 10K. Do whatever it is that you need to do to keep moving forward. And never stop until you are done. Because running never stops.





14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reset.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page